Another Day Goes By

Angel food cake
Image via Wikipedia

March 9, 2012.  It’s the end of another day.  I’ve just finished baking an Angel Food cake – from a mix because it’s not worth making one from scratch – what would you do with all those egg yolks?

I managed to fritter away the whole day.  What a great word:  fritter.  The definition in the Merriam Webster dictionary says:  to spend or waste bit by bit, on trifles or without commensurate return.  I was supposed to meet a friend for lunch, but somehow I didn’t get to bed last night until about 4 am this morning.  I was feeling rather tired and I started to worry that I should be doing something in preparation for the party I’m having on Saturday night.

Somehow I didn’t really accomplish that much which is exactly what you are supposed to do when you fritter away the day.  I spent too much time on the computer reading emails and writing some, opened some more mail that piled up while I’ve been in Ontario (nothing all that important), stared outside my window glad that I got out yesterday for a walk because the weather has taken a downturn (7 day forecast is for rain and more rain), checked to see if Rufus, my Great Blue Heron was at his post (yes, standing there like usual), ate a couple of meals, and from time to time, thought about my party.

Tomorrow is d-day for the party.  I guess I like leaving things to the last minute.  I’m planning to make two kinds of martinis – Green Apple and Pommegrante.  Some of my friends are bringing some finger foods.  A little bit of clean up, last minute shopping and then setting up the table & bar.  Hopefully I’ll have time for an afternoon nap.

Leave a Reply

