It’s My Birthday!

Image

Okay, this picture was taken a few years ago, but this is the person I see in the mirror everyday.  The painting in the background is by my good friend Lori Sokoluk taken at The Drift Art Walk and Studio Tour in 2009 where I was a volunteer organizer.

It’s a cold, grey day which keeps switching between rain and snow; wind warnings causing havoc with the ferries crossing from Horseshoe Bay to Nanaimo on Vancouver Island.  But I’m here snug in my apartment watching it unfold.  Actually it’s pretty calm here today unlike Monday when we were in the throes of the storm with windows rattling, branches flying and some trees falling.  We lost a beautiful white birch tree on the grounds of my apartment building.

It’s been a busy morning taking calls from well-wishers, reading greetings on Facebook, and now I’m ready for an afternoon nap!  I made my call to Dad reaching him just before he left his room for dinner.  I rarely miss talking to Dad, and before Mom died, to Mom, on my birthday.  Hopefully they liked hearing from their daughter as much as I wanted to talk to them trying to close that gap of being several thousand miles away in Vancouver, just like this birthday.

My friends Mark and James are having my friend Susan and I over for my birthday dinner. They are just the greatest hosts and I know I will have a superb evening.  I’m sure I’ll have a story to tell after tonight, so stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

